Painted Concrete

I am so very excited to share my newest project with all of you. I painted the floors!

photo 4 copy 2

Fortunately I work for an organization that gives me all the creative freedom I want so, I take full advantage. The floors we had before had ugly carpet that was glued directly to the concrete. It was very labor intensive to remove the carpet: scraping off glue, sanding the concrete, staining the concrete, etc. And it left the floor with scratches and holes everywhere.

photo 1First I put a solid base coat on the floor. I used paint specifically for concrete. I used Behr paint from Home Depot. (Be sure to clean the floor and tape off the base boards)  This step is very easy and it only took two coats. I literally just poured the paint on the floor and spread it with a roller. I got as close to the wall without touching them.  Then I used a paint brush to fill in any holes and to cut in the border.

photo 2

The floors in the foyer are a high traffic area and pretty much always have footprints and dust coming in from outside. In order to camouflage the dust I decided to paint a pattern on the floor. I searched the web for inspiration for a few days. If I can copy someone else, the easier it is. By the end of my search, I decided to just paint my own pattern.

photo 2 copy 3

The pattern seems a lot more intricate than it actually is. Basically, I just bought about seven rolls of painters tape (the edge lock kind) and started taping off stripes. I guestimated the amount of space in between each stripe and tried to keep all of them even. Like I said, I guestimated. I wanted this project to be fun and not a chore.

photo 3 copy 3

When I first went shopping for supplies, I greatly underestimated the amount of tape I would need. I originally bought two rolls and ended up using seven total. Take my advice and buy more than you think you need.

photo 4 copy 3

Next I painted the the stripes. For this project I chose a turquoise. I thought that would compliment the purple walls. I just used a small hand roller and made a quart of paint stretch to two thin coats.

photo 1 copy

I made sure I let the paint dry overnight before removing the tape. As I was removing the tape some of the base coat came off as well. Now I’m sure I could have done a better job priming the base and waiting longer to put tape over the paint. But, honestly, I have never experienced perfect tape removal (and I’m impatient). I wasn’t too worried about it. You would have to be looking for any imperfections to actually see them.  After removing all the tape, I used a small paint brush and hand painted some of the stripes. Also I taped over any holes that were in the concrete and hand painted those stripes after. I didn’t want to fuss with taping a stripe over the hole.

photo 2 copy

Seven whole rolls removed and an hour later, I could rest easy and finally see how my pattern turned out.

photo 3 copy

After I removed all of the tape and just stared at the pattern for about 15 minutes with my proud face, I moved to the next step.

photo 4 copy

I lightly mopped the floor again to remove any dust to prepare for the clear coat. I just used water so there wouldn’t be any cloudy chemicals dulling the paint color. I did a lot of research on what to use as a top coat. As I said before, this is a high traffic area and I didn’t want all my hard work to be easily scuffed and scratched. Also the shine helps hide some of the dust coming in from outside.

photo 2 copy 2

Screen Shot 2013-08-27 at 4.16.06 PM

I ended up going to Sherwin Williams and purchasing a concrete sealer. I only used a quarter of this sealer. It doesn’t take very long to “dry”. But, you do have to wait about 72 hours for the sealer to set.

photo 1 copy 2

Here is the end result. I am super happy with the way it turned out. Overall, this project is very easy and inexpensive but a bit time consuming. It’s like watching paint dry!

I hope you give it a try and send me pictures! Also feel free to ask me any questions 🙂

Shalom, Taylor.

About heyitsmetay

Hello, I'm Taylor. I'm 23 and I love to design, paint, and learn. Currently I'm in the process of learning to cook. It's not easy but so far I've only had success. This is my first blog and I'm super excited about sharing some of the projects I've been working on. If you have a project for me please email me at taylorbeyer@me.com.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

